Frequency North Reading Series at The College of Saint Rose


Frequency North, the visiting writers series at The College of Saint Rose, enjoyed ten seasons from 2005-2015. I founded the the series and served as curator and coordinator, hosting more than 65 events. We featured “aggressively eclectic” programming of readings and lectures by top writers, from fiction writers and graphic novelists to essayists and and poets, and enjoyed press coverage from WAMC public radio, the Albany Times Union, Troy Record, and other places.

Attendance at each event ranged from 50 to more than 300 people, from both the college and the local community. With generous financial support from the School of Arts and Humanities as well as Poets & Writers Inc. through The New York State Council on the Arts, we managed to bring more than 60 writers on campus, reading in the evening as well as visiting classes in the day.

Plus we had some supercool, award-winning posters designed by Mark Hamilton and Chris Parody (see slideshow above).

Here’s the list of Frequency North visitors:

Jenny Boully
Regie Cabico
Matt Madden
Drew Gardner
Hal Niedviecki
Janice Erlbaum
Joanna Fuhrman
Jordan Davis
Nelly Reifler
David Rees
Rachel Shukert
Alice Fulton
Taylor Mali
Marilyn Nelson
Deborah Ager
Jessica Anthony
Peter Conners
Darcey Steinke
Jericho Brown
Ernest Hilbert
Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz
Derrick Brown
“Mighty” Mike McGee
Stephen Elliott
Meghan Daum
Scott Rosenberg
Alexander Chee
Kathleen Rooney
Aaron Belz
Melissa Broder
Eboni Hogan
Jeanann Verlee
Dana Spiotta
Tobias Seamon
Megan Abbott
Georgia A. Popoff
Quraysh Ali Lansana
Anne Trubek
Melissa Febos
David Lehman
Denise Duhamel
Katie Degentesh
Nalini Jones
Patricia Smith
Wayne Koestenbaum
Gregory Pardlo
Shappy Seasholtz
Eduardo C. Corral
Kaya Oakes
David Yezzi
Michael Meyerhofer
Meg Kearney
Bartley Seigel
Chloe Caldwell
Kiese Laymon
Dave King
Marc Spitz
Rick Moody
Rigoberto González
Jade Sylvan
Sean Thomas Dougherty
January O’Neill
Jonah Winter
Sharon Mesmer